

THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY.

Published by Authority.

WELLINGTON, SATURDAY, AUGUST 16, 1884.

Members of the Executive Council resigned.

Executive Council Chamber, Wellington, 16th August, 1884.

IS Excellency the Governor has been pleased to accept the resignations of

The Honourable HARRY ALBERT ATKINSON, The Honourable WILLIAM ROLLESTON,

The Honourable John Bryce, The Honourable Thomas Dick,

The Honourable RICHARD OLIVER, The Honourable Edward TENNYSON CONOLLY, and

The Honourable EDWIN MITCHELSON,

of their appointments as Members of the Executive Council.

(By command.)

FORSTER GORING, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Resignation of Ministers.

Private Secretary's Office,

Wellington, 16th August, 1884.

IS Excellency the Governor has been pleased to accept the resignations of

The Honourable HARRY ALBERT ATKINSON, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Premier, Colonial Treasurer, Commissioner of Stamp Duties, Commissioner of Customs, and Minister of Marine Department;

The Honourable WILLIAM ROLLESTON, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices

of Minister of Lands, Mines, and Immigration; The Honourable THOMAS DICK, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Colonial Secretary and Minister of Education;

The Honourable EDWIN MITCHELSON, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the office of Minister for Public Works;

The Honourable JOHN BRYCE, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the office of Minister of Native Affairs and Defence;

The Honourable EDWARD TENNYSON CONOLLY, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Attorney-General and Minister of Justice ; and The Honourable RICHARD OLIVER, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the office of

Postmaster-General and Commissioner of Telegraphs.

(By command.)

F. W. PENNEFATHER,

Private Secretary.

Members of the Executive Council appointed.

Executive Council Chamber,

Wellington, 16th August, 1884.

IS Excellency the Governor has been pleased to administer the oath of office to

The Honourable Sir JULIUS VOGEL, K.C.M.G.,

The Honourable ROBERT STOUT,

The Honourable Edward Richardson, C.M.G.,

The Honourable JAMES MACANDREW,

The Honourable WILLIAM MONTGOMERY, and

The Honourable JOHN BALLANCE,

and swear them Members of the Executive Council of New Zealand; and has fixed their order of precedence under section 6 of "The Civil List Act 1863 Amendment Act, 1873," as above.

(By command.)

FORSTER GORING, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Ministers appointed.

Private Secretary's Office, Wellington, 16th August, 1884.

IS Excellency the Governor has this day been pleased to appoint

The Honourable Sir JULIUS VOGEL, K.C.M.G., to be Colonial Treasurer, Postmaster-General and Commissioner of Telegraphs, and Commissioner of Stamps;

The Honourable ROBERT STOUT to be Premier and Attorney-General;

The Honourable Edward Richardson, C.M.G., to be Minister for Public Works;

The Honourable JAMES MACANDREW to be Minister of Lands and Mines;

The Honourable WILLIAM MONTGOMERY to be Colonial Secretary and Minister of Education ; and

The Honourable JOHN BALLANCE to be Native Minister and Minister of Defence.

(By command.)

F. W. PENNEFATHER, Private Secretary.

By Authority: GEORGE DIDSBURY, Government Printer, Wellington.

[No. 94